Cross country season comes to end in regional meet

By | October 27, 2013 12:00 am

12th place. Megan Holland just missed out on a trip to the state with her 12th place finish in the Region 3AAA cross country meet on Thursday.

The 2013 cross country season came to an end in the region tournament for both the White County and Van Buren County high school teams.
Both teams traveled to Dayton for their respective region races, which were run at Fort Bluff camp. The Region 3AAA races were the first followed by the Region 4A-AA tournaments later in the day on Thursday.
WCHS saw their streak of seven consecutive years with a runner qualifying for the state come to an end this season. Megan Holland came very close to keeping the run alive as she just missed out on a state berth by 22 seconds.
The top three teams and top 10 individuals advance from the state to the region. Holland finished 12th in the Region 4AAA girls’ race with a time of 22:14.30.
She closed the gap throughout the course of the race. After one mile, she was in 38th place, but by the time the two-mile mark came up, she had pulled into 18th and wound up finishing 12th.
Ashton Mitchell also ran her final race as a Warriorette runner and completed the race in 30:57.00.
The 10th place runner finished with a time of 21:53.98. Stone Memorial freshman, Haily Coudriet, won the region title with a time of 19:39.12. The Cookeville girls won the team title.
WCHS only had one runner compete in the boys’ race. Jimmy Wallace finished 72nd with a time of 20:54.52. The region champion, Harold Smith from Bradley Central, finished with a time of 16:34.71. Cookeville also won the boys’ region team title.
In the 4A-AA races, Van Buren County had four runners compete.
Abigail Blankenship was the lone Spencer runner in the girls’ race. She finished 54th with a time of 27:33.08. The winner of the race was Central Magnet’s Claudia Smith with a time of 19:04.95.
Three Van Buren runners compete in the boys’ race. The top finisher for the Eagles was Tye Vanwinkle in 64th place with a time of 22:06.92. The other two runners were Ben Boyd (25:15.92, 83rd) and Noah Thornton (26:57.00, 84th).
The A-AA region champ was Central Magnet’s Andrea Hillsome with time of 16:53.76.

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Sparta Live