Early voting underway in Van Buren

By | April 12, 2018 7:32 am

The list of candidates has already been finalized to be placed on the May 1, 2018, Democratic Primary ballot for Van Buren County offices.

Early voting is already underway for the May 1, 2018 county primary election, in Van Buren County.

Now that the petition deadline to be placed on the ballot has officially passed, the list of non-primary candidates has been finalized for the Aug. 2, 2018 county election.

According to records obtained from the Van Buren County Election Commission Office, the following candidates have successfully filed their petitions for county-based offices to be placed on the Democratic Primary ballot in May.

County Mayor

Greg Wilson (D)

Road Superintendent

Randy D. Oakes (D)


Eddie D. Carter (D)


Tammie Hillis Clendenon (D)

Register of Deeds

April M. Shockley (D)

County Clerk

Lisa Swindell Rigsby (D)

Circuit Court Clerk

Brandy (B.J) Baker (D)

Joan M. Moffitt (D)

The following candidates, according to the Van Buren County Election Commission Office, have successfully returned their petitions and have been placed on the General Election ballot, in August.


Mark B. Evans (I)

District 3 Constable

Mark A. Medley

County Commission-District 1

David Chandler

Timothy Harris

Michael Woodlee

County Commission-District 2

Sam Henry Seamons Jr.

Bill Mosley

County Commission-District 3

Zachary Fletcher

Rip B. Van Winkle

Robert Van Winkle

County Commission-District 4

Joey Grissom

William R. Maxwell

County Commission-District 5

Mickey Robinson

Brian Simmons

School Board-District 1

Ronnie Hitchcock

School Board-District 4

Tabitha Denney

Davy Shockley

School Board-District 5

Ricky Walling

State Representative

Cameron Sexton (R)

Anne F. Quillen (D)

For more information about the upcoming 2018 county and state primaries and the 2018 general election or how to register to vote, visit the Tennessee Secretary of State’s website at sos.tn.gov or contact Wayne Simons, at the Van Buren County Election Commission Office, at (931) 946-2728. In the event that a registered voter has moved or has had a name change, visit the Van Buren County Election Commission Office, at 179 Veterans Square, to update voter registration information.

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Sparta Live