Roster of candidates is growing

by | February 12, 2018 6:22 am

With the upcoming election season now in full swing, many candidates have turned in their petitions to be placed on the ballots, while some local elected positions have yet to have a petition filed to fill those seats.

As of Feb. 8, 2018, according to records received from the White County Election Commission Office, the vast majority of positions that will be on the upcoming primary and general election ballots now officially have candidates seeking office.

However, candidates have not yet filed petitions for the following offices: district six county commission (two seats), school board district six, and state senate.

Since Nov. 16, 2017, candidates for county-based offices   across Tennessee were able to pick up their petitions to be placed on the May primary election ballot. In White County, the Democratic Party and Independent candidates will be participating in the May 1, 2018 primary elections, while the Republican Party has already hosted a caucus (nominating convention) to select their local candidates.

The following candidates have picked up petitions for the following positions:

  • Denny Wayne Robinson- County Executive (Republican)
  • J.D. Prater Jr.- Trustee (Democrat)
  • Angie Mackie Wilhite – Trustee (Independent)
  • Joy Templeton – Trustee (Independent)
  • Scott O’Dell – Sheriff (Independent)
  • Steve Page – Sheriff (Republican)
  • Beverly Finley Jolley – Circuit Court Clerk (Democrat)
  • Sasha Lee Gray – County Clerk (Independent)
  • Martha Bumbalough – Register (Democrat)
  • Clay Parker – Road Superintendent (Democrat)
  • Cleadus Bumbalough – Road Superintendent (Independent)
  • Andy Haston – Commissioner District 1 (Independent)
  • Diana Haston – Commissioner District 1 (Independent)
  • Cain L. Rogers – Commissioner District 1 (Independent)
  • Terry Alley – Commissioner District 2 (Republican)
  • Thomas Kelly Austin – Commissioner District 2 (Republican)
  • Bruce Frasier – Commissioner District 2 (Independent)
  • Allan Hale – Commissioner District 3 (Independent)
  • Raymond Harold England – Commissioner District 3 (Independent)
  • Craig Capps – Commissioner District 4 (Independent)
  • Lanny Selby – Commissioner District 4 (Independent)
  • Dakota White – Commissioner District 4 (Independent)
  • Marcus Bilbrey – Commissioner District 4 (Independent)
  • Dale Bennett – Commissioner District 5 (Independent)
  • Dillard Quick – Commissioner District 5 (Republican)
  • Stanley Neal – Commissioner District 7 (Republican)
  • Bobby Lee McCulley – Commissioner District 7 (Republican)
  • Jayson McDonald – School Board District 5
  • Kenneth Robinson – School Board District 7
  • Jeff Young – Sparta Mayor
  • Jim Floyd – Sparta Alderman
  • Robert (Bobby) Officer – Sparta Alderman
  • Hoyt Jones – Sparta Alderman
  • Paul Sherrell – State Representative (Republican)
  • Eric D. Morin – State Representative (Republican)
  • Jerry Lowery – State Representative (Republican)
  • Les Trotman – State Representative (Democrat)

Candidates have until noon, Feb. 15, 2018, to file their nomination petitions for the county primary elections. Local candidates for county commission, school board, city mayor and aldermen have until noon, Apr. 5, 2018 to file their petitions.

No comments yet.

To combat spam, please answer this question: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

By submitting a comment you grant Sparta Live a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate and irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin’s discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

© Copyright 2018 | Sparta Live