WCHS basketball teams hit the road after Christmas

By | December 27, 2018 10:21 am

The White County High School basketball teams will hit the road after celebrating Christmas for play in their final holiday tournament of the year.

The Warriors and Warriorettes will be competing in the 29th Annual Sunshine Classic, in Daytona Beach, Florida. The tournament will run Dec. 27-29.

The Warriorettes will be the first game of the tournament. They will take on Trimble County High School from Bedford, Kentucky, at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT, on Dec. 27.  Trimble County is 3-8 so far this season.

The girls’ side of the bracket includes four teams from Kentucky: two teams from Tennessee and one team from Florida and North Carolina.

The teams, including the Warriorettes, are Trimble County, Atlantic, Cherokee, Elizabethton, Knott County, Letcher County, and Pulaski County.

If the Warriorettes can pick up a win, on Thursday, they will play at 1 p.m. ET/ noon CT against the winner of Knott County and Cherokee. If the Warriorettes lose their first game, they will play at 9 a.m. ET/ 8 a.m. CT against the loser of the two teams.

The Warriors will play the first game on the boys’ side of the bracket. They play at noon ET/11 p.m. CT, on Thursday, against Pulaski County High School. Pulaski is 3-4 so far this season according to MaxPreps.

The boys’ side of the bracket includes four teams from Kentucky, three teams from Tennessee, and one team from the Bahamas.

The teams, including the Warriors, are Breckinridge County, Elizabethton, Letcher County, North Bullitt, Pulaski County, South Doyle, and Sunland Baptist.

If the Warriors can pick up a win in their first game against Pulaski County, the Warriors will play at 11:30 a.m. ET/ 10:30 a.m. CT, on Friday, against the winner of the game between South Doyle and North Bullitt High School. If the Warriors lose, they will play at noon ET/ 11 a.m. CT.

Over the past three seasons, the Warriorettes have had some success in their holiday tournaments, winning three straight holiday tournaments not in the state of Tennessee. Their most recent out-of-state tournament win was in the Ed McGeough Holiday Christmas Tournament, in Silver Springs, Maryland, last season. The Warriorettes will look to make it four straight this week.

No comments yet.


The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Sparta Live