Dunaway elected to lead Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference


Bryant Dunaway, 13th District Attorney General (Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, and White counties) has been elected by the district attorneys general throughout the state to serve as vice president of the Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference. In that role, he will also serve as vice chairman of the organization’s executive committee. In these new responsibilities, Dunaway will play a crucial role in guiding the overall administration of justice in Tennessee.

“One of the greatest privileges of my career was being selected by the people of my district to serve them as district attorney,” Dunaway said.  “I am further honored and humbled to be asked to serve in this statewide Conference leadership position.”

“The vice president of the Executive Committee helps guide every decision we make in our work to improve public safety and provide for a more prompt and efficient administration of justice throughout this great state,” TNDAGC Executive Director Guy Jones explained. “I have no doubt Gen. Dunaway will uphold this responsibility admirably and continue serving his fellow district attorneys general with distinction.”   

Dunaway was first elected district attorney general for the 13th Judicial District, in 2014. He is a graduate of the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy, Tennessee Tech University, and the Nashville School of Law. Prior to his role as district attorney, he worked as a police officer for the City of Cookeville and engaged in the private practice of law. Dunaway is an active member of his community. He is a member and deacon at Collegeside Church of Christ, Tennessee firearms instructor, Rotarian with the Rotary Club of Cookeville, and past chairman of the board of CityScape, and he serves on the boards for the 13th Judicial District Drug and Violent Crimes Task Force and the Upper Cumberland Family Justice Center.

The Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference was created by the General Assembly in 1961 to provide for a more prompt and efficient administration of justice in the courts of the state. It is composed of the elected District Attorneys General from the state’s 32 judicial districts. www.tndagc.org


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here