Several WCHS basketball players among those listed in District 7/AAA awards


District 7/AAA held their postseason meeting on Feb. 14 and named Upperman’s Brooklyn Crouch and Cumberland County’s Jackson Inman the league’s MVPs.

Joining Crouch on the first team was fellow Lady Bee Abigail Johnson, as well as White County’s Nia Powers and Alaina Stiles, Cumberland County’s Emery Baragona and DeKalb County’s Kadee Ferrell.

The second team was headlined by Livingston Academy’s Ellie Butler, who was also named Freshman of the Year. It also featured the Lady Wildcats’ Keaton Webb and Aleah Melton, Cumberland County’s Abby Houston and DeKalb’s Ella VanVranken.

The third team consisted of Stone Memorial’s Katie Adkisson, White County’s Celeste Reed and Ava Jones, Livingston’s Allie Qualls, Upperman’s Jayla Cobb and Cumberland County’s Jalynn Baldwin.

LA’s Leah-Kate Clark, Stone’s Kortney Headrick and DeKalb’s Avery Agee were all honorable mentions.

Joining Butler on the All-Freshman Team were Jones, Headrick and Agee, as well as Stone’s Addison Howard and Cumberland County’s Aliyah Hawkins. The defensive team was headlined by Crouch, who was named the Defensive MVP. Fellow Lady Bee Cobb joined her on the team, along with Baragona, Stiles, Qualls and Cumberland’s Grace Baldwin.

Cumberland’s Jalynn Baldwin earned the Most Improved Player award.

CCHS head coach Kim Cram-Torres was named the Coach of the Year.

On the boys side, Inman was joined by fellow Jet Kole Torres on the first team. Stone’s Cade Capps, Upperman’s A.J. Nash and White County’s Jakeb Davis and Tomas Paul were each named to the team as well.

Stone Memorial was a constant presence on the second team, as Dylan Whittenburg and Matthew Bilbrey each made it. They were joined by Upperman’s Rex Davis, DeKalb’s Conner Close and White County’s Japheth Richmond.

The third team consisted of DeKalb’s Elishah Ramos, CCHS’ Carson Conatser, Livingston’s Hayden Ledbetter, White County’s Thomas Brock and Macon County’s Braydee Brooks.

Stone’s Blake Holt, DeKalb’s Stetson Agee and Upperman’s Jyron McClellan and Daniel Metzgar each earned honorable mention nods.

Capps was named the district’s Freshman of the Year, while DeKalb’s Jordan Parker, Upperman’s Branson Turnbow, White County’s Tripp Pinion and Macon’s Zach Borders and Cason Gregory were each named to the All-Freshman team.

Pinion was also named the Defensive MVP, while fellow Warrior Davis, Holt, CCHS’ Jaxon Reed, DeKalb County’s Isaac Knowles and Brayden Antoniak and Upperman’s Jaxson Bush were each named to the All-Defensive team.

DeKalb’s Close and Upperman’s Davis were named Co-Most Improved for the boys.

Stone Memorial head coach Neil Capps was named the Coach of the Year.

The District Tournament begins with the girls’ first-round games on Tuesday at 6 P.M. and will be hosted by the higher seed.

Upperman will host DeKalb County, Macon County will travel to Livingston and White County will take on Stone Memorial in Sparta.

The boys’ first-round games will be on Wednesday at 6 P.M. with Upperman hosting LA, White County hosting Macon and Cumberland hosting DeKalb County.

The semi-finals will be hosted at Tennessee Tech on Friday and Saturday.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here