Page to serve second term as sheriff, Robinson re-elected White County executive


Victory was the key word May 3 for many individuals who had tossed their hats into the political ring.

Voters chose to re-elect several individuals who had already been holding public office, while others were ousted by newcomers.

John Meadows, who serves as the attorney for White County and also maintains a private practice, will now serve as the new general sessions court judge. Meadows, who will be sworn into office Sept. 1 with the other elected officials, will serve as judge in both White and Van Buren counties.

Meadows was challenged by Matthew Sewell Bailey, Cynthia Fields Davis, Brandon Griffin, and Macey Dawson Gurley. Meadows carried White County, with 1,903 votes (40.11 percent), and garnered 190 votes in Van Buren County (17.27 percent).

Meadows will fill the position held more than two decades by Sam Benningfield, who will be retiring.

Steve Page, who has served as sheriff of White County for the past four years, was re-elected to another term. Page garnered more than double the votes of his rival John Ford. The final total for Page was 3,310, while Ford secured 1,587.

Denny Wayne Robinson, White County executive incumbent, was challenged by Joe Hallums, a newcomer to the political arena. Robinson received 2,641 votes (55.07 percent), while Hallums garnered 2,155 (44.93 percent).

In the county commission races, the following were elected or re-elected, and some will face competition in the August General Election.

District 1: Emilie Austin Roberts and Cain L. Rogers

District 2: Thomas (TK) Austin Jr. and David V. Cranford

District 3: Becky Golden and Robert McCormick

District 4: Lanny Selby (Selby’s name was the only name on the ballot for District 4. However, there is one name on the General Election ballot.)

District 5: Jordan Cocke and Thomas Margeson

District 6: Derrick Hutchings and Roger Mason Jr. (They will be on the ballot with challenger in General Election)

District 7: Larry Daniels and Kyle Goff

Votes for the office of road superintendent were split three ways. J.D Humphrey received 1,908, Charles Hutson garnered 842, and Jerry Sawyer received 1,927. The winner will face a challenger in the August General Election.

Lori Jones, a longtime employee of the register of deeds’ office, was victorious over rivals Roxanna Jones Hitchcock and David Sain. Jones received 51.10 percent of votes, with 2,448. She will face a challenger in the August General Election.

Beverly Finley Jolley was uncontested in her re-election bid for White County Circuit Court Clerk and received 4,074 complimentary votes.

(SpartaLive will post any additional names from the General Election ballot as soon as we obtain an updated copy. Our thanks and gratitude go to Dorcas Marcum, White County administrator of elections, who works tirelessly to ensure that we provide accurate information to the public.)


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here