Warrior football celebrates successful season

Posted By | December 13, 2013 12:00 am

Team award winners. The Warrior football team was honored with their banquet Sunday in the WCHS cafeteria. Several players took home awards for the season. Front row (l to r): Blake Lynn (Dee Harris Award, Offensive Most Valuable Player, Offensive Back, Senior Award and permanent team captain), River Boruff (Team Most Valuable Player, Linebacker and permanent team captain), Tommy Odom (Wide Receiver) and Seth Davis (Defensive Most Valuable Player). Second row: Hunter Cantrell (Stan Mitchell Sportsmanship Award, Speciality Player and permanent team captain), Michael Harris (Weight Room Award), Zack Lynn (Freshman Award), Blake Newman (Defensive Line Award). Back row: Chris Foster-Palmer (Most Improved), Caleb Cravens (Offensive Line), Ethan Farley (Sophomore Award), Skylar Delaney (Defensive Back Award), Jo Jo Matlock (Junior Award) and Wesley Saylors (Coaches Award).

Sunday was a day for the members of the White County High School football team to look back on their successful 2013 season.
Players, coaches, staff and family members were treated to the team banquet Sunday afternoon in the White County High School cafeteria. Following that event, the members of the team who received All District honors traveled with the coaches to Cookeville for the District 6AAA banquet at Nick’s Restaurant.
After all in attendance enjoyed a catered meal at the team banquet, White County’s director of schools, Sandra Crouch, offered opening comments. She addressed not just the success the team enjoyed on the field, but how that had transferred out into the community with the character they displayed during the course of the season.
Coach Matthan Houser and his staff then proceeded to hand out postseason awards for the just finished season. The awards were voted on by the members of the team.
First were the class awards. The winners of those awards were: Blake Lynn (Senior), Jo Jo Matlock (Junior), Ethan Farley (Sophomore) and Zack Lynn (Freshman).
The senior players and managers were also recognized with each receiving gifts containing game film and highlights. The players also were given their jerseys.
The next awards handed out were the position awards with each coach giving out their respective award. Coach Jeremy McDonald presented the Offensive Line Award to Caleb Cravens. Coach Mark Houser presented two awards. He gave the Offensive Back Award to Blake Lynn and the Defensive Back Award to Skylar Delaney. Coach Matthan Houser presented the Wide Receiver Award to Tommy Odom. That was followed by Coach Montauk Murray awarding the Defensive Line Award to Blake Newman. Defensive coordinator, Josh Hackett, presented the Linebacker Award to River Boruff.
Following the position awards, specialty awards were announced. The Most Improved Award was given to Chris Foster-Palmer. The Weight Room Award went to Michael Harris. The Specialty Player of the Year was Warrior punter, Hunter Cantrell. The Coaches Award went to Wesley Saylors.
The team also voted on who the permanent captains of the team would be. They voted that honor to Blake Lynn, River Boruff and Hunter Cantrell.
Three MVP Awards were also given out. The Offensive Most Valuable Player was senior running back, Blake Lynn, who led the team in touchdowns scored and rushed for over 1300 yards. The team’s leading tackler, Seth Davis, a junior linebacker, took home the Defensive Most Valuable Player.
The Team Most Valuable Player went to River Boruff for the second straight year. The senior was the second leading tackler on the team from his middle linebacker spot, played fullback and also was in on special teams.
Two final awards were presented. The first was the Stan Mitchell Sportsmanship Award, which went to Hunter Cantrell.
The final award, the Dee Harris Award, is basically for the ultimate Warrior, which encompasses the spirit of a Warrior football player both on and off the field. This year’s recipient was Blake Lynn.
Later on that evening, several members of the group made the trip to the District 6AAA banquet where those awards were handed out. Each coach presented their respective players with the awards.
WCHS players receiving honors were:
Co-MVP – Blake Lynn
Co-Defensive Player of the Year – Seth Davis
Co-Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman – Jo Jo Matlock
Most Outstanding Punter – Hunter Cantrell
First Team
River Boruff
Skylar Delaney
Perry Clayton
Caleb Cravens
Ethan Farley
Second Team
Blake Newman
Luke Cantrell
Jacob Winton
All Academic
Michael Harris
Chris Foster-Palmer
Warrior defensive coordinator, Josh Hackett, was named the District 6AAA Assistant Coach of the Year.

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2020 | Sparta Live

SIGN UP FOR MORE! Get special offers and updates from us in your inbox. Sign Up!
+ +